Findbugs 2.0: an update

I’m a big advocate of FindBugs, to which have devoted several posts.

My experience in “porting” a project to use FindBugs 1.x to the maximum extent possible was pretty good, and I decided to define a set of recommendations for using FindBugs in all new projects.

These days I have decided to take a look at FindBugs 2.0, and I have to say that the experience was good. It felt unobtrusive, worked well, and found some new potential issues. These were not real issues for my project, but would have been in most other projects, and it felt good to have them pinpointed.

FindBugs 2.0 works like 1.x did: in fact, the recommendations I laid out for using 1.x remain unchanged nd are fully applicable. Nothing new under the sun, just small improvements well worth it.

By the way, I decided to add FindBugs plugins, that help check additional potential issues. I’m using fb-contrib. I have to say that I did not find additional potential issues in my code, but this might be just my project. Since this did no harm, I’m keeping these extra checks.

Kudos to the FindBugs guys for their 2.0 release. I hope they keep the good work, FindBugs is a nice and helpful tool that everybody should use if they are concerned with code quality.

Responder

